Graduate Alumnae

Name Year Graduated Position Contact
Zakiya Adair, Ph.D. 2010

Assistant Professor, Dept. of Women’s & Gender Studies and African American Studies
The College of New Jersey

adairz@tcnj.edu
Alka Arora, Ph.D. 2008 Assistant Professor and Program Chair, Women’s Spirituality
California Institute of Integral Studies
aaora@ciis.edu
Amy Bhatt, Ph.D. 2011 Assistant Professor of Gender and Women's Studies
University of Maryland Baltimore County
abhatt@umbc.edu
amybhatt.com
https://www.facebook.com/rootsandreflections
Brianna Blaser, Ph.D. 2008 Counselor/Coordinator, DO-IT Center
University of Washington
blaser@uw.edu
Renee Byrd, Ph.D. 2013 Assistant Professor of Sociology
Humboldt State University
rb1409@humboldt.edu
Jeanette Bushnell, Ph.D. 2009 Part-time Lecturer
The Honors Program
University of Washington
pembina@uw.edu
Rebecca Castner, Ph.D. 2012 Freelance Speaker and Human Rights Activist  
Calla Chancellor, Ph.D. 2011 Instructional Consultant, The Center for Teaching and Learning
University of Washington
calla8@uw.edu
Monica De La Torre, Ph.D. 2016 Assistant Professor, Media and Expressive Culture, School of Transborder Studies
Arizona State University
 Monica.DeLaTorre@asu.edu
Sara P. Diaz, Ph.D. 2012 Women’s and Gender Studies Professor
Gonzaga University
diazs@gonzaga.edu
Martha Gonzalez, Ph.D. 2013 Assistant Professor of Chicano Studies
Intercollegiate Chicana/Latina Studies Program
Scripps, The Women’s College
mgonzale@scrippscollege.edu
http://www.marthagonzalez.net
Mae C. Henderson, Ph.D. 2006 CFWS Social Work Supervisor, Department of Social and Health Services, Division of Children's Administration, Department of Children Family Services mhender11@gmail.com
Alyssa Hellrung, Ph.D. 2009 Program Director and Coach for the School of Acrobatics and New Circus Arts School of Flight and

Part-time Lecturer, Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies, University of Washington

ahellrun@uw.edu
Nina Kim Hanson, Ph.D. 2013 Freelance Writer ninakim@uw.edu
Janice L. Kinney, Ph.D. 2010 Senior Instructional Designer, Distance Learning Design
UW Educational Outreach
 
Kristina Knoll Niemi, Ph.D. 2012 Civil Rights Analyst & Consultant
California Department of Social Services, Human Rights & Community Services, Civil Rights Bureau
 
Kristy A. Leissle, Ph.D. 2008 Full-time Lecturer, School of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
University of Washington, Bothell WA
kleissle@uw.edu
Serena Maurer, Ph.D. 2006

Consultant, Compassionate Social Justice Consulting, Seattle

Affiliate Lecturer, Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies, University of Washington

serenam@uw.edu
Michelle L. McGowan, Ph.D. 2008 Research Associate Professor, Ethics Center & Division of General & Community Pediatrics
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
Department of Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
University of Cincinnati McMicken College of Arts & Sciences
Michelle.McGowan@cchmc.org
Dipika Nath, Ph.D. 2008 Consultant Specialist, Foundation for Human Rights, Johannesburg South Africa and Freelance researcher on LGBT  
Amy Peloff, Ph.D. 2011

Graphic Designer, Long and Short Creative, LLC, Seattle
Speakers Bureau Presenter, Humanities Washington
Affiliate Assistant Professor University of Washington

 info@longandshortcreative.com
Nicole Robert, Ph.D. 2016

Lecturer
School of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
University of Washington, Bothell

nrobert@uw.edu
Noralis Rodriguez-Coss 2016

Post-Doctoral Fellow, Women's and Gender Studies
Gonzaga University

 noralisr@uw.edu
Karen Rosenberg, Ph.D. 2008 Director of Writing and Communication Center
University of Washington, Bothell
krosenberg@uwb.edu
Julie R. Severson, Ph.D. 2009 Senior Regulatory Affairs Consultant
Group Health Cooperative